MG PMX-003 The-O Part 1: Unboxing & Prep

First part cut from the runner of the Master Grade The-O. First step of many for this giant mobile suit.

First part cut from the runner of the Master Grade The-O. First step of many for this giant mobile suit.

I think at this point it’s a safe bet to say that my favorite Gundam series is Zeta Gundam. I love the unusual, but awesome designs of the mobile suits and it shows since my latest purchase and project are both from Zeta.

As I get ready to do a photo shoot this week of the High Grade Messala, I went ahead and started on my next project which is the Master Grade The-O. Both are Titans mobile suits piloted by Paptimus Scirocco in the series Zeta Gundam, and both are substantially bigger compared to other kits in their size grade.

Giant Perfect Grade-like box for the MG PMX-003 The O. It's a giant box for a giant kit.

Giant Perfect Grade-like box for the MG PMX-003 The O. It’s a giant box for a giant kit.

Given the numerous pieces and sizes of the pieces (some are enormous, especially the leg and arm armor plates), I’m going to take a little more time than usual to paint and build it.

What I’m planning to do is first prime and paint all the armor pieces first. Following that I’ll do the same with inner frame and weapons. Usually, I would prime and paint the whole bunch together. But the number of pieces would just take way too long to do it in one session since I’ve allotted myself a set time per day to work on the kit.

Base of the back skirt. I would say this is the biggest piece in the whole set.

Base of the back skirt. I would say this is the biggest piece in the whole set.

What I’ve done today is separated the yellow armor plates into two groups. I’ll prime the first group on Friday, then on Saturday prime the second group and paint the first group. I’m going to need a lot more paint than usual to cover this guy adequately.

First group of yellow armor pieces ready to be primed. The pieces include the largest pieces in the kit including the skirt and leg armor.

First group of yellow armor pieces ready to be primed. The pieces include the largest pieces in the kit including the skirt and leg armor.

Back of the MG The-O box. This guy looks amazing! I can't wait to put this guy together.

Back of the MG The-O box. This guy looks amazing! I can’t wait to put this guy together.

Contents of the MG PMX-003 The-O

Contents of the MG PMX-003 The-O

The first runner I'll be working on. These parts are enormous!

The first runner I’ll be working on. These parts are enormous!

Contents of the MG PMX-003 The-O

Contents of the MG PMX-003 The-O

Contents of the MG PMX-003 The-O

Contents of the MG PMX-003 The-O

2 thoughts on “MG PMX-003 The-O Part 1: Unboxing & Prep

Leave a Reply

