HGUC Messala Part 1: Unboxing

Finally got the HGUC Messala on Wednesday. Love the artwork on the box.

Finally got the HGUC Messala on Wednesday. Love the artwork on the box.

I’m currently in the middle of watching Zeta Gundam after I stopped watching it several years ago. About a week ago I watched the first appearance of Paptimus Scirocco on the show as he showed up in the PMX-000 Messala and knew I had to get my hands on the recently released High Grade model of the mobile suit.

The first thing I noticed when I opened the model box was how big the armor plating was which should come to no surprise to anyone who’s watched Zeta Gundam. The Messala is clearly larger than the standard Mobile Suit.

I’ll be priming the parts and hopefully will have all the parts painted by Sunday and will also be working on the long-delayed photo shoot of the HGUC Zee Zulu with customized weapons.

As I’m watching Zeta Gundam I’m digging the unusual, but cool designs of the mobile suits, especially the Titans mobile suits. I’ve already spotted my next HGUC purchase from the show.

I cannot wait to put the Messala together! The design looks very sleek and bad ass. Some initial concerns I had as I was unboxing the kit, was how sturdy the model would be given the fact that it also transforms. We’ll see when I get to that point.

HGUC Messala manual. Yeah, this is a giant sucker.

HGUC Messala manual. Yeah, this is a giant sucker.

Main armor plating for the Messala. The color is blue violet.

Main armor plating for the Messala. The color is blue violet.

Secondary armor plating for the Messala. The color is actually darker and more purple than the picture depicts.

Secondary armor plating for the Messala. The color is actually darker and more purple than the picture depicts.

Runners holding the inner frame, hands and special stand.

Runners holding the inner frame, hands and special stand.

Beam saber, polycaps, piping and weaponary runners.

Beam saber, polycaps, piping and weaponary runners.

Screws for the stand and stickers for the model.

Screws for the stand and stickers for the model.

2 thoughts on “HGUC Messala Part 1: Unboxing

Leave a Reply

