REVIEW: Berserk Golden Age Arc III: Descent

Berserk Golden Age Arc III: Descent

Berserk Golden Age Arc III: Descent

It’s been a while since I watched the Berserk anime which I thought was great in both the visual and story aspect, although the ending of the series was a bit frustrating (there is a very short scene at the very end of the credits that sets up what comes next). So when I learned that a number of Berserk movies were coming out, I was pretty ecstatic.

Berserk tells of the story of Guts, a mercenary, who joins up with Griffith the leader of a group of mercenaries known as the Band of the Hawk and centers on their exploits in a medieval world where supernatural elements begin to appear and become more prevalent, especially with the third movie and newest installment, Berserk Golden Age Arc III: Descent.

Guts in Berserk Golden Age Arc III: Descent. That was pretty much my reaction to the "Eclipse" part of the movie.

Guts in Berserk Golden Age Arc III: Descent. That was pretty much my reaction to the “Eclipse” part of the movie.

I liked the first two movies, although the CG was a bit distracting in the beginning with the first movie, and I eagerly awaited the last of the trilogy of the Golden Age just to see how the movie would depict the events of the Eclipse, which is basically hell on earth.

Suffice to say I thought the third movie was very good, although I do prefer the second movie (I felt there was bit more characterization in that installment).

Not all of Descent (thank god!) focuses on just the Eclipse itself, I don’t think I could handle a movie that focuses on that event. The movie features Guts return to the Band of the Hawk, the rescue of Griffith, the Eclipse and then some brief scenes afterward.

As I said it’s been a while since I saw the anime series, but for the most part I think the movie follows on the same events and characters depicted in the series, although there is one major character, who does NOT appear in the anime series, that makes an appearance or two and of course there are the scenes after the Eclipse.

Casca from Berserk Golden Age Arc IIII Descent.

Casca from Berserk Golden Age Arc IIII Descent.

When I first watched the anime series and had no knowledge of the events that transpired in the Eclipse, I was shocked to see so many of the things that happened. Knowing what was going to happen, didn’t really detract away from the shock of the Eclipse in the movie. The Eclipse is brutally violent and will probably be more shocking to someone who has no idea what’s to come. There was one scene where I did have to look away and I’ve never had to do that when I watched the anime series (which the scene is also in) or for any anime that I could think of.

My thought after watching the movie was pretty similar to what I was thinking after I watched the anime series. They’re continuing this right? They’re not going to leave it as is?

For me the end of the movie left me wanting more, not just because it left me with a cliffhanger (which this time it did not), but because I liked what the studio did with Berserk for the big screen and of course the movie is a huge setup for another trilogy of movies. I have very little knowledge of the Berserk manga to which the movies and anime series are based upon, but the manga continues to this day which should give the film producers ample material to cull from.

Ambition is a pretty strong theme throughout the Berserk trilogy especially in the latest installment.

Ambition is a pretty strong theme throughout the Berserk trilogy especially in the latest installment.

I think if you really enjoyed the two Berserk movies then you’re going to enjoy this one just as much or maybe even a little less, depending on how much you can stomach the Eclipse. I really liked the movie and I hope they continue whether it be through movies or another anime series.

The movie does end with “This is just the beginning.” So I think a continuation is a given and a much needed one at that.

3 thoughts on “REVIEW: Berserk Golden Age Arc III: Descent

  1. I loved the Mediablasters edition of the anime, with the extras where the voice actors screw around. The manga is beloved in Japan, but notorious for its very infrequent chapters. And it only gets darker where the anime left off.

Leave a Reply

