Yoko Love: Revoltech, Portraits, Gurren Lagann and Yoko iMovie

Yoko from the anime Gurren Lagann. Found this piece of art from the web, but I don't know where it's from. It's a sweet pic anyways!Yoko from the anime Gurren Lagann. Found this piece of art from the web, but I don’t know where it’s from. It’s a sweet pic anyways!

     The last time that I bought a figure was back in 2007 with the Haruhi Suzumiya figure at the Mid-Atlantic Anime Convention. I was a fan of the series and still am but I’m really not much of a figure person, that is until recently…. I decided to get the Yoko Revoltech figure after finally getting around to watching Gurren Lagann. After watching the series, I have become a fan, especially of Yoko’s.

Revoltech Yoko with postcards from the Yoko Portraits magazine.

Revoltech Yoko with postcards from the Yoko Portraits magazine.

     Other than the Revoltech figure I also got the Gurren Lagann Yoko Portraits magazine, which has some really nice art of Yoko and production notes and art pieces. The magazine also includes some polaroids of some of the art inside of the magazine. Also, I briefly touch on the series, Gurren Lagann and wonder to myself why I didn’t get into this series earlier!

Yoko – Fraulein Revoltech Figure

Yoko geared up with shooter sunglasses and rifle.

Yoko geared up with shooter sunglasses and rifle.

 

     The Yoko Fraulein Figure came out in October of 2008 and a new version (movie version) of it is coming out in late April and May. Yoko comes with two interchangeable faces, two front hair pieces (one of which includes her sunglasses), her gigantic mecha busting rifle, 2 gun mounts for the rifle, four pairs of hands (including one giving the peace sign) and a stand. 

     With this being my first Revoltech figure and nothing to compare it to, I really like the figure. The paint job is really well done for the figure. The  poseability of it is pretty good considering that it a figure and even though it does have some limits on how you could pose it, there’s several options to put Yoko in a kick ass stance. 

Yoko salutingYoko saluting, close up.

Yoko's rifle is gigantic! You can tell it's even taller than her!

Yoko's rifle is gigantic! You can tell it's even taller than her!

Yoko Running. Stand digitally removed.Yoko Running. Stand digitally removed.

     Yoko’s legs can swivel to the right and left as you can see above where I’ve also digitally removed a stand. After building so many MG Gundams, I guess I got used to the poseability of them especially on the ground.

     I would say you would have a 50/50 chance of getting Yoko to stand how you want her to without using a plastic stand. One of the things that really makes the character fall from one side to the next is her rear giant hair piece. But with some patience you could maneveur her legs to the point where she doesn’t need anything to support her.

Yoko leaping in mid-air to stop a Gunmen.

Yoko leaping in mid-air to stop a Gunmen.

     Barring that issue, I’m glad I got this figure. There’s enough poses you can do with her to satisfy most of your needs, given that this is a figure and not a fully fledged MG or PG Mode….I mean figure.

     Now I can’t wait to get the new movie version of her, which essentially is the same body from what I can tell, but with different faces included, a new full hairpiece and additional weapons.

     After getting this Revoltech figure, I may looking into buying more given that they look pretty detailed, have some poseability and some with extra accessories.

Yoko crouching down with RifleYoko crouching down with rifle. Close up.

Yoko in mid-air again.

Yoko in mid-air again.

 Yoko hips, wide shot.Yoko hips, close up.

 

Gurren Lagann Yoko Portraits Magazine

Yoko Portraits Magazine Cover

Yoko Portraits Magazine Cover

 

     The Gurenn Lagann Yoko Portraits magazine is chock full of original art pieces of Yoko which also includes rough animation sketches of Yoko throughout the series, information on her gear (mostly her rifle), a section of full colored photo album pics of Yoko from the series and in an envelope in the back of the magazine, 8 polaroid pics of Yoko.

     The dust cover of the magazine can also be removed to reveal a black and white picture of Yoko as the cover.  Another Gurren Lagann Portraits magazine was made for Nia. And if it’s as good as Yoko’s I’m there! Below are a few pictures from the magazine.

Love this shot of Yoko and little Kamina down in the left corner.

Love this shot of Yoko and little Kamina down in the left corner.

Yoko in her space outfit and her hover scooter. Although I am a bigger fan of Yoko's outfit on Earth, her spacesuit here looks pretty good.

Yoko in her space outfit and her hover scooter. Although I am a bigger fan of Yoko's outfit on Earth, her spacesuit here looks pretty good.

A favorite of mine because Yoko's playing a favorite sport of mine. Hopefully it will warm up soon here so I could hit the courts.

A favorite of mine because Yoko's playing a favorite sport of mine. Hopefully it will warm up soon here so I could hit the courts.

Yoko in all her glory.

Yoko in all her glory.

I don't this shot of Yoko during the beach episode made it on air. Speaking of which, here's hoping for a revoltech figure of Yoko in her yellow swimsuit featured in aforementioned episode.

I don't this shot of Yoko during the beach episode made it on air. Speaking of which, here's hoping for a revoltech figure of Yoko in her yellow swimsuit featured in aforementioned episode.

 Gurren Lagann – Anime Series

Yoko from the Gurren Lagann anime.

Yoko from the Gurren Lagann anime.

 

     When I first was exposed to the Gurren Lagann series I didn’t really think much of it. At that time I wasn’t active on my blog and was set on Gainax doing something similar to their previous works, for example, Evangelion, FLCL, etc.,etc.,etc.  But I should’ve known then as I know now, to give their anime sometime to sink in and you’ll be hooked.

     For me the hook, line and sinker was Yoko, but as the series went on I got to appreciate the other two main protagonists in the form of a young boy named Simon and his courageous dont-get-in-my-way “brother” Kamina.

     The series takes place sometime in the future, where most of the population is living underground in a very primitive sort of way. There’s no televisions, phones, or cars in the underground city. But one day the main character, Simon, stumbles upon a small drill and a mecha (called Gunmen) that leads him, Kamina, and an outsider, Yoko, to the surface.

     There on the surface they fight other Gunmen piloted by Beastmen who eradicate any human that comes to the surface. Thankfully for Simon and Kamina, there are other people on the surface, including Yoko, who rebel against the Gunmen.

The main characters of the series. From left to right: Kamina, Simon and of course Yoko.

The main characters of the series. From left to right: Kamina, Simon and of course Yoko.

The Gurren Lagann mecha named by Kamina, piloted by Kamina and Simon. I would love to get a descent model of this.

The Gurren Lagann mecha named by Kamina, piloted by Kamina and Simon. I would love to get a decent model of this.

One of the boys' Gunmen opponent in the beginning of the series. The Enki, piloted by the beastman Viral.

One of the boys' Gunmen opponents in the beginning of the series. The Enki, piloted by the beastman Viral.

One of my favorite episodes of the series involves the characters going to a bath house. This has got to be one of the funniest and uncensored anime episodes ever!

One of my favorite episodes of the series involves the characters going to a bath house. This has got to be one of the funniest and uncensored anime episodes ever!

     I bought the Gurren Lagann Special Edition DVD 01 which contains the first 9 episodes of the series, and to me its the best of the series which spans 27 episodes. Don’t get me wrong the rest of the series is also well done and does take a series and cosmic turn that’s interesting, but the first 9 episodes really focuses on a brotherly-best-buds-forever vibe with Kamina and Simon that I could relate to.

     That aside, the whole series is a mecha pouncing insane journey that only Gainax could offer. My only caveat is that it’s only 27 episodes….and 2 movie retellings….but that’s always how it is when you come to the close of a great anime series.

Kamina and Simon in the Lagann mecha.

Kamina and Simon in the Lagann mecha.

 

Yoko iMovie

A screen capture of iMovie on my new Macbook Pro.

A screen capture of iMovie on my new Macbook Pro.

 

     After a few of my friends began pushing me towards everything Apple, I decided to get the new Macbook Pro 17 inch matte screen. I’m glad that I got it, it seems everything I run like Adobe Photoshop CS4, runs much faster than other computers I’ve used. But then again I’ve heard that Adobe software runs faster on Apple computers using MAC OS. 

     Anyways, I decided to try the iMovie out on Yoko. iMovie has a lot of options that are similar to Windows Movie Maker, which has been my movie software of choice. But I’m thinking about getting Final Cut Express, since I’ve heard that Express is quite similar to Final Cut Pro.

    iMovie does have a bit more features than my Windows Movie Maker, and I use a few on this movie.

One thought on “Yoko Love: Revoltech, Portraits, Gurren Lagann and Yoko iMovie

  1. The revoltech line is pretty impressive. If you like revoltech, you may also like the figmas too. That yoko posterbook looks pretty nice!

Leave a Reply

