GUNPLA: MG Sinanju & MG Unicorn Gundam

Sinanju aerial strike using beam shield.

Sinanju aerial strike using beam shield.

I figured when I left this blog over a year ago that I wouldn’t return. But alas my love for Gundam and Anime has returned. I plan to continue this blog on a regular basis.  At least an update every month.

I start off with the Mobile Suit that brought me back, the MG Sinanju.  I really didn’t expect Bandai to churn this one out. I figured the company would just direct all attention to Gundam Seed and its predecessors. But I’m glad they decided to produce the mecha.

Unicorn versus Sinanju. (Digitally rendered to include flare)

Unicorn versus Sinanju. (Digitally rendered to include flare)

I also review the MG Unicorn which I had bought last year and played around with the idea of doing a post on it,  but never got to it.  My usual shooting studio, the Blue Ridge Mountains, is no longer available to me so I decided to play around with indoor settings, light and shadows and some digital manipulation.

MG Sinanju

The MG Sinanju
The MG Sinanju after a triumphant battle with the RX-O.

The Sinanju is a Neo Zeon Mobile Suit from the Japanese novel “Mobile Suit Gundam Unicorn.” Full Frontal, the pilot’s name, operates the mecha. I decided not to put, Full Frontal(..this name is kind of odd and funny name.), in Sinanju since I found that the configuration for the seating was a bit loose on my model.

But that’s the only thing that I found that was loose on this model. It looks like a tank and it’s built like one too! I’ve accidentally dropped it a couple of times from the shooting table, with the end result being no damage and all it’s armor plates attached with no sign of letting up.

Sinanju with Beam Saber.

Sinanju with Beam Saber.

Sinanju kneeling with Beam Saber.

Sinanju kneeling with Beam Saber.

I’ve got to give props to Bandai for this model.  I think it’s one of the sleekest and deadliest designs that I’ve seen for any type of mecha. Even though it’s bulky and huge, Sinanju’s maneveurability is incredible. You can see from the shot above, it’s knee joint is fully capable of bending to almost any type of pose you can think of.

Sinanju waiting to strike in the shadows.

Sinanju waiting to strike in the shadows.

I knew before I ordered it that there was no way in the world that I would leave it unpainted. I deviated a bit from the color schemes provided, the biggest difference is the joints and hands which I painted light gunmetal gray to give it a steel looking quality.

Sinanju in Flight. (Stand digitally removed)

Sinanju in Flight. (Stand digitally removed)

One thing that I really wished I had done last year when I was putting the Unicorn together was get water decals, which I did with the Sinanju and helped a lot to give it more detail.  Having said that the gold water decals that come with the Sinanju were horrible! You’ve got to have a lot of patience and dexterity in order to put those on. They are also a bit more flimsy than the water decals you buy from Bandai.

The Sinanju includes a few weapons and from what I understand he’ll be getting a big new one come April.  Like the Sinanju itself, the designs of his arsenal are well done and just add to the menacing look of the Neo Zeon Mobile Suit.

Sinanju with Large Beam Axe-Blade.

Sinanju with Large Beam Axe-Blade.

Sinanju Aerial Strike with Beam Axe Saber.

Sinanju Aerial Strike with Beam Axe Saber.

Sinanju knealing with Beam Rifle.

Sinanju kneeling with Beam Rifle.

Sinanju strike using double beam axe blade.

Sinanju strike using double beam axe blade.

As mentioned before, the gold water decals that came with the Sinanju were just too flimsy, so I had to use the regular decals for all the gold emblems that you see on the model. It took some patience to get them on and align them just right, especially for the knee and elbow joints.

The white line markings across the leg and shoulders also proved to be kind of difficult for me even using the water decals that I purchased separately from Bandai. Fortunately enough the rub on decals that came with the Sinanju were a bit easier to use than previous rub-on’s. So if I made a mistake using the water decals I could go back to the rub-on’s.

Sinanju with double axe sabers.

Sinanju with double axe sabers.

Sinanju in Flight. (Stand Digitally Removed)

Sinanju in Flight. (Stand Digitally Removed)

Sinanju strike with Beam Rifle.

Sinanju strike with Beam Rifle.

I’m glad I purchased the Sinanju, it’s a favorite design of mine especially since it has a kind of resemblance to the Kampfer. The poseability is incredible for it, given that it’s big and bulky. The markings on it add to the detailed look, once you get them on and aligned right. The model is a must buy for Zeon fans and all-around mecha fans, you won’t regret it!

The MG Sinanju

The MG Sinanju

RX – O Unicorn Gundam

RX-0 Gundam Unicorn

RX-0 Gundam Unicorn

The RX-O Unicorn Gundam is again from the aforementioned novel Mobile Suit Gundam Unicorn. Piloted by the novel’s protagonist, Barnage Lynx.

I bought the Unicorn Gundam early last year after I played around the idea of coming back earlier to Otaku Surf. This normal mode of the Unicorn, looks pretty simple enough, but it is much sturdier in this version than it is in Destroy Mode.

The decals do a great job of making it more detailed since it’s practically all white.

RX-O Unicorn Armed with Gatling Gun.

RX-O Unicorn Armed with Gatling Gun.

RX-O Saber Strike.

RX-O Saber Strike.

RX-0 Gatling Strike.

RX-0 Gatling Strike.

RX-O Unicorn Gundam Destroy Mode

MG Unicorn Gundam - Destroy Mode.

MG Unicorn Gundam - Destroy Mode.

This is the reason why I bought the Unicorn. It’s awesome psycho-frame Destroy mode. I really like the fact that it has all those red psycho-frame panels throughout it’s body. This mode also is slightly taller than the normal mode of the Unicorn.

The only real downside for the model in Destroy mode, is that it’s armor is very loose, since it was made to be transformable.  This can be a bit frustrating when you’re trying to maneuver the arms and legs.

Another negative is it’s knee joint which is not as poseable as previous MG’s and newer ones like the Sinanju. I went ahead and slightly modified the knee joint on its right leg for some flexibility.

Unicorn flight with Double Gatling Gun.

Unicorn flight with Double Gatling Gun.

Unicorn Blast Off.

Moonlight Unicorn Blast Off.

Unicorn with Sabers.

Unicorn with Sabers

I like the Destroy mode so much in fact that I’m thinking about getting another one and possibly doing a Banshee of it. It’s a great design that adds more unique details to the popular well-known classic Gundams.

Unicorn versus Sinanju.

Unicorn versus Sinanju.

Unicorn with Beam Rifle

Unicorn with Beam Rifle

Unicorn Fully Armed

Unicorn Fully Armed

Well, we finally come to the end of this very long post after a very long hiatus. I’m very impressed so far with the Gundam Unicorn MG’s and hopefully Bandai will continue to produce them.

Although the Gundam Unicorn has a few problems, in reference to it’s leg mobility and loose plating, I still like the model’s design and have no regrets in purchasing it.  The Sinanju, to me is an excellent MG. The only real downside again, is having the time and patience to get those gold stickers aligned correctly.

I’ve heard that the Delta Plus may be the next one they produce from Unicorn, which I think is fantastic. If they make an MG out of it, I’ll be the first to pre-order it.

The MG Unicorn Gundam

The MG Unicorn Gundam

Hunt for the White Unicorn, Resurrection & Revenge

 

20 thoughts on “GUNPLA: MG Sinanju & MG Unicorn Gundam

  1. Hey, nice work on the Sinanju there! I am tempted to get one, but I’ll have to get the Unicorn first. It’s nic to hear that you can make the gold parts look good without using paint ^^

    BTW how did you mod the Unicorn’s legs? Did you just remove a part that hindered its movements?

  2. excellent work! I just finished with my Sinanju. The design, those deadly curves and the details are just amazing. Zeon really are lucky to have cool mecha, just like the Sazabi. lol.

    Sieg Zeon!!!

  3. Superb photography, Surf! I have yet to shoot using shadows but it looks like you’re stepping into that type of shooting. The Sinanju is just a jaw dropping model.

  4. @Yasser Anas
    Can’t wait to see it. Zeon does have the best, with Sazabi and of course the Kampfer.

    @Sil3cnC3_10
    No problem, no I didn’t use primer for any part of the Sinanju. The colors I used for the Sinanju, are somewhat similar to the plastic’s color, so I didn’t really need set down a base. On the other hand…..

    BLOG UPDATE: Talking about primer’s, I used a primer on my custom Gadessa which is about 90% done.

    I changed the colors signficantly to have it similar to Capt. Healing Care’s Gadessa from Gundam 00 Season 2. Look for a post next week or later this week on it.

  5. Hey i know its kinda late for me 2 ask but can u give me any tips on how u painted the Vulcan Gun on Sinanju’s head?

    im new at painting n u reali did a good work.

    thanks

  6. You actually bring up a point that I forgot to mention in my post. I didn’t even realize that the vulcan cannons were red UNTIL I had completely painted the model.

    What I did was take apart the head completely.

    I then took the one piece that had the mask and the vulcans and completely taped, with thin model masking tape, the whole piece except for the vulcan cannons and spray painted the cannons with gunmetal grey tamiya spray paint.

  7. i’m waiting for my sinanju in the mail right now, i can’t wait to place the water slide decals and paint the gold trim on ;]

    i think you should have done that with your sinanju but then again, it is your sinanju, not mine. =p

    oh, and about your unicorn, did the sticker decals start accumulating dust after a couple days sitting?

    i’m waiting for my water slide ones so i can redo them because i have that problem now with the dust as i mentioned above, i live in las vegas and it’s dusty heeeere…

    otherwise, good job on your models but i’d start painting them, i don’t have patience myself but for models kits, i have every ounce of it for some odd reason. trust me, it looks sooo much better if you detail it, hell if you don’t have much patience just use the gundam markers, no thinner, no mixing, just uncap and have a go at it!

Leave a Reply

